Love, Happiness, and Doubt

13445412_10153627455650423_8797164456465503417_nDrinking my coffee alone, numbly staring at emails that demand attention.

A year of struggle, attempting to come back from what seemed utter defeat. Still–after so many months–an unimaginable distance. Deadened eyes and harsh words and separate joys.

I want change, desperately.

And then I read this from Jennifer Dukes Lee: “It’s time to do what Flannery O’Connor did: to stalk joy as if it can change things. Because it can.”

Is it possible?

Washing my coffee cup and placing it in the drainer, I grasp hold of the counter’s edge.  Today I begin my search for happiness.

 

 

Leave a Reply

